#8. Phone Call

I got a phone call the other day, from a chic!! That should have been the best moment of the day, but it turns out I was pretty busy and was not in the mood for idle chit chat. I feel that most of the chics I talk with are disconnected in some way. As in we’re not in the same place mentally. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to be Sheldon Cooper or anything, I’m just facing the raw facts.

Maybe in the near future I’ll get someone who gets what I’m going through at the moment, seeing that I don’t even know what I’m going thru myself…lol. Of course there are times when I call and all I want to do is blow away hard earned airtime. They know how to laugh and talk, and I know how to listen ( it’s my airtime!), so we get on pretty well…but those periods of insanity have decreased in their frequency of occurrence. Maybe it’s because the weight of responsibility has been steadily increasing every few days. Makes idle chit chat the least of my concerns.

I’m sorry I cut you off so quickly. We’re in different places right now and I can’t say I particularly like you so much. I couldn’t for the life of me say this to you in person. I hate hurting people’s feelings. This is where I’ll use the famous “it’s not you it’s me” line, but I mean it this time.I really hope you don’t read this and realize it’s you I’m talking about, b/c then you’ll never call me again, and I want you to!!

I want to have my cake and eat it (I’m sure I won’t and that’s why I’m writing this…)
This is not to say that I don’t want to be called at all. Please do!! I’m only trying to sort out my thoughts on paper. It’s kind of biased for I know if that chic I’ve had my eyes on for a long time now called, I’d never  cut the conversation short (really?doubt it!).

In the final analysis, that’s one more chic who’ll never call me again. There’re many fish in the ocean (granted), but if I go on like this, I’ll never catch one…(or be caught by one. It happens btw!)

In the meantime, I’ll try my very best to prevent myself from turning into this guy…I certainly don’t want my thoughts to keep me warm on cold nights!!

Leave a Reply

